The anguish of FGM never stops!

by

An article about FGM in Kirkuk.

A 27-year old woman resident of Kirkuk, who declined disclosing her name, said “I was circumcised when I was a child. I didn’t know then why and for what end was it done. In my teenage years my girl friends were talking about a lot of things (sexual pleasure included) to most of which I was oblivious and didn’t have a clue. It was later that I understood the reason for FGM. Now I am always weary of life and I even detest myself for I consider myself as a disabled person. Nights frighten me out, and every night I quarrel with my husband at home since he accuses me of sexual frigidity and the reason behind that lack of sexual desire is unbeknownst to him.

She tearfully concluded “I shall never forgive my parents as long as I live for they deprived me and my husband from the joy of life.”

Leave a Reply

